Outdoor Crafts

Driftwood Painting Activity for Children

A few months ago we went to Brittas Bay beach in Co Wicklow and collected lots of driftwood. You would be amazed at how much we found. I gave the kids a bag each so they could have their own little stash of wood. I didn’t know yet what we were going to make with it but it was fun collecting it and a good distraction to get them to walk further on the beach without noticing!

craftea kids brittas bay

driftwood

Today was one of those days where it was raining one minute and really sunny the next so we took a chance and went outside to paint some of the driftwood that we saved from our walk.

The kids were so excited about this. It’s the first time we have painted outside this year so it was a novelty for them.

I knew this would be quite messy so we used some old shirts from their dads wardrobe. Look how clean they were at the beginning!

dads old shirts

We placed some newspaper on the grass as it was a bit damp and its easier to contain the mess all in one spot if it’s all on the newspaper.

outdoor painting

I bought this paint in Lidl a while back, it’s called CreColour, it’s German acrylic water based paint, I just love the colours and it’s really quick drying.

sticks4

We use ‘Create’ paint brushes that I buy in The Art & Hobby Shop. They have thick wooden handles that are the perfect size for kids hands.

sticks5

I have to say this craft was a big hit with my five year old and my almost two year old. I think it was such a novelty for them to be painting something of a totally different shape that what they are used to. They spent at least half an hour painting the sticks in lots of different colours and designs. I have to say I really enjoyed it too, very therapeutic!

sticks10

What I love about this craft is that it costs absolutely nothing except for some paint. It just shows you with a little bit of an imagination you can make anything.

sticks9

I’m pretty excited about the results, who would have thought painted sticks could look so pretty?

sticks11

sticks8

Driftwood Painting

We left them to dry and then I screwed in some small white hooks that I bought in Woodies and tied some string to either end to make this children’s coat hanger.

I’m sure there are lots more things you can make with this painted driftwood, I would love to hear your suggestions!

Leave a Reply

