Back To School Crafts

Back To School Craft-Lunchbox Love Notes

make your own chalkpaint 5

T-minus five days until my son goes back to school. Where has the Summer gone? It’s feels like October, it hasn’t stopped raining here in Wicklow for the last 24hours. I quite like these lazy days, good excuse to stay in your jammies and eat crap all day long!

I figured out how to make my own chalkboard paint a few years ago and it’s so easy. You can paint it on anything you want, walls, jars, wood, it’s pretty cool and a lot cheaper than buying the real stuff in a hardware shop.

I thought this would be a cute idea to paint the inside of my son’s lunchbox and I could write little notes or smiley faces in chalk. Sounds a bit creepy but it’s kinda cute as he’s still so young, in a few years I’d say I will not get away with this so I might as well enjoy it while I can.

lunchbox

What you need:

1 x Lunch Box (plastic/tin)

1 Tablespoon of Tile Grout

1 x cup of Acrylic Paint (any colour you like, the darker ones seem to work better)

1 x Paintbrush

Chalk to write notes

lunchbox 2

How To Make It:

  1. Put one tablespoon of tile grout into a bowl

  2. Add in one tablespoon acrylic paint. I normally use a tester paint pot that you can buy in your local hardware shop. You can use any colour paint but the darker colours work better.

  3. You may need to add more paint or more tile grout to get the right consistency.

  4. Mix really well until you get rid of all the lumps and bumps.

make your own chalkpaint 3

  1. It should be smooth and not too thick.

  2. Once you are happy, paint the inside of your lunch box and leave to dry

  3. Once dry you can draw away with your chalk leaving a secret message or smiley faces ๐Ÿ˜‰

make your own chalkpaint 5

4 thoughts on “Back To School Craft-Lunchbox Love Notes

Leave a Reply

